Terps open 2015 season at Navy

Senior Joe LoCascio and the Terps take on Navy Saturday at noon.

The No. 10 Maryland (0-0) men's lacrosse team opens its 90th season with a Saturday afternoon game against long-time foe Navy. The Terps and Midshipmen are slated for a noon start at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium on Saturday, Feb. 14.


• Maryland and Navy have met every season since 1946, with 2015 marking the 73rd annual matchup between the teams. The Terps lead the all-time series, 54-33-1, dating back to 1924 (88 meetings). Maryland has not lost to Navy since 2009.

• Maryland has won 21 consecutive season-openers dating back to 1993, and 30 of the last 31. The Terps have outscored opponents by an average score of 15-5 during the 21-game win streak.

• Maryland is coming off a 2014 season that saw the Terps earn their 12th straight bid to the NCAA tournament and 12th straight 10-win season, which are the longest current streaks among Division I teams.

• Head coach John Tillman is back for his fifth season as head coach of the Terps after leading Maryland to their third NCAA Final Four appearance in the last four seasons. Tillman is 48-19 through four seasons, the most wins ever by a Maryland coach through four seasons.

• Maryland is 24-2 all-time against unranked opponents under Tillman (7-0 in 2014), last falling to unranked Cornell, 16-10, in the 2013 NCAA Tournament.

• The Terps are 36-2 all-time in the month of February, including a perfect 10-0 record under Tillman. Maryland's last such loss came on Feb. 21, 2009, against Georgetown, 13-10.

Pacific Coast Shootout

2020 Pacific Coast Shootout
Yale 17 •  Michigan 11

2019 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 10 • Denver 7

2018 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 11 • North Carolina 7

2017 Pacific Coast Shootout
Virginia 19 • Cornell 18 (OT)

2016 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 9 • Maryland 4

2015 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 10 • North Carolina 8

Pacific Coast Shootout
Denver 10 • Notre Dame 7