Bryan Costabile nets a hat trick in the Irish's 10-7 win over Denver.
Notre Dame Tops Denver 10-7

Courtesy ( COSTA MESA, Calif. -- A pair of four-goal scoring runs fueled tenth-ranked Notre Dame to a 10-7 victory over #8 Denver Saturday night in the Pacific Coast Shootout.

An enthusiastic crowd of 6,374 turned out for the sixth annual event. With the victory, Notre Dame improves to 3-1 while Denver falls to 4-2.

Junior Bryan Costabile netted a hat trick for the Irish, while senior Brendan Gleason, sophomore Wheaton Jackoboice and junior Brian Willetts each scored a pair of goals.

Senior Matt Schmidt backstopped the Irish with 10 saves in goal.

How It Happened
After the Pioneers opened the scoring 40 seconds into play, the Irish rattled off the next four goals to earn a 4-1 advantage. Jackoboice evened the score before a tally by Gleason sandwiched between two markers by Willetts gave the Irish a three-goal lead.

Denver made it a two-score game with 3:45 left in the first quarter before the Irish went on another 4-0 scoring run in the second frame to take an 8-2 lead. This time, Costabile opened the scoring streak with two goals before Jackoboice and Gleason each scored their second markers of the game.

The Pioneers netted their third goal with 4...

Recent Pacific Coast Shootout News

Shootout Announcements

2019 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 10 • Denver 7

2018 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 11 • North Carolina 7

2017 Pacific Coast Shootout
Virginia 19 • Cornell 18 (OT)

2016 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 9 • Maryland 4

2015 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 10 • North Carolina 8

Pacific Coast Shootout
Denver 10 • Notre Dame 7

Please Support Our Shootout Partners