Maryland and UNC to clash in Shootout

National Champions Maryland and Carolina to meet in 2018 Shootout
The Maryland Terrapins and North Carolina Tarheels have collected some valuable hardware since they last appeared in the Pacific Coast Shootout. On Saturday, March 24, the 2018 Shootout will host the past two NCAA Division I National Champions.

Maryland won the 2017 NCAA title with a 9-6 win over Big Ten rival Ohio State. North Carolina won the 2016 NCAA championship in a thrilling 14-13 (OT) victory over the Terrapins.

"We are extremely excited to welcome Maryland and Carolina back to the Shootout," commented executive director G.W. Mix. "To have the past two NCAA champions want to return to our event and play this crucial regular season game in Southern California says quite a bit about their past experiences in our lacrosse community."

Coach John Tillman and Maryland will be making their third trip to the Shootout, while Coach Joe Breschi and the Tarheels make their second appearance in the event. Maryland last played in the Shootout in 2015 against Notre Dame. The Heels last visit to Southern California was in 2015 when they played Maryland in event's second year.

2018 marks the fifth anniversary of the Pacific Coast Shootout. Past participants include Cornell, Denver, Maryland, North Carolina, Notre Dame and Virginia.

Past Shootout Results
2014 Pacific Coast Shootout: Denver 10  •  Notre Dame 7
2015 Pacific Coast Shootout: Maryland 10  •  North Carolina 8
2016 Pacific Coast Shootout: Notre Dame 9  •  Maryland 4
2017 Pacific Coast Shootout:Virginia 19  •  Cornell 18 (OT)

Pacific Coast Shootout

2020 Pacific Coast Shootout
Yale 17 •  Michigan 11

2019 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 10 • Denver 7

2018 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 11 • North Carolina 7

2017 Pacific Coast Shootout
Virginia 19 • Cornell 18 (OT)

2016 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 9 • Maryland 4

2015 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 10 • North Carolina 8

Pacific Coast Shootout
Denver 10 • Notre Dame 7