Shootout alums claim 3rd straight NCAA title!

The past 3 NCAA Division I Champions appeared in the Pacific Coast Shootout
The past three NCAA Division I National Champions appeared in the Pacific Coast Shootout a year before winning the sport's most coveted trophy. Coincidence? Maybe. Maybe not.

With its 9-6 win over Ohio State at Gillette Stadium in Boston on Memorial Day, the University of Maryland became the latest of three straight Pacific Coast Shootout participants to win the National Championship. The Terrapins played in the 2015 and 2016 Shootouts (vs. North Carolina and Notre Dame respectively) and have played in the last three National Championship games.

Denver, who played Notre Dame in the inaugural Shootout in 2014, defeated the Terps 10-5 to capture the 2015 National Title. Last year, it was 2015 Shootout participant North Carolina who beat Maryland 14-13 in overtime to win the 2016 Championship.

"Do you think we can begin to advertise to potential participants that the road to the National Championship goes through the Pacific Coast Shootout?," the event's executive director G.W. Mix asked with a smile. "I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate my good friend John Tillman on his first national championship. The fact that the past three NCAA Division I Champions have played in the Shootout is a direct reflection of our commitment to bring the best teams in the game to the West Coast for the event. We are extremely grateful these programs have seen the championship-level value in participating in the Shootout experience and we are excited about the possibility of having them return in the near future."

In addition to playing host to the last three National Champions, the Shootout has also showcased three of the last four runner-ups. In 2014, Duke defeated inaugural Shootout participant Notre Dame to win the 2014 National Championship. Maryland was the runner-up in 2015 and 2016.

Given the three-year string of past Shootout teams winning it all after playing in the Shootout, 2018 might be the year Cornell, Notre Dame or Virginia wins the title.

Pacific Coast Shootout

2020 Pacific Coast Shootout
Yale 17 •  Michigan 11

2019 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 10 • Denver 7

2018 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 11 • North Carolina 7

2017 Pacific Coast Shootout
Virginia 19 • Cornell 18 (OT)

2016 Pacific Coast Shootout
Notre Dame 9 • Maryland 4

2015 Pacific Coast Shootout
Maryland 10 • North Carolina 8

Pacific Coast Shootout
Denver 10 • Notre Dame 7